Heroes vs. Lost

What I’ve watched since I last posted:

Warning: Today’s post could contain potential spoilers about any of the above shows.

Hey folks, sorry I missed Sunday’s post.  I had a chance to go to Disneyland for the weekend and my hotel had no Internet access.  In any case, I did get to watch the newest episodes of Lost and Heroes and I figured now would be a perfect time to match the two against each other.

First off let’s take a look at the overall premise of the two shows.  Heroes is essentially a real life X-Men story.  It has all the politics, powers, and alliances of Marvel’s franchise but brings all of these issues to life with real people.  Lost, on the other hand, is an original idea that follows the lives of the survivors of a plane crash on a strange island.

lost-logoNothing is as it seems in Lost.  You are constantly exploring new possibilities and the character developments never end.  In fact, character development is probably the coolest thing about this show.  Each episode usually has one pivotal character that we learn more about through trademark flashbacks.  The creators then do a great job of applying what we learned about that character in those flashbacks to certain dilemmas or situations they’ll go through at the present moment.  Of course, with Lost you never really know when that present moment is.  After all, you are supposed to be lost right?

heroes-comicHeroes is a lot more linear.  Every episode leads to the next and all the character development follows that pattern.  That’s not to say the character development isn’t as good as Lost, it’s just introduced in a different formula.  Rather than focus on the past Heroes tends to lean towards the future.  The characters usually learn of a future disaster and have to come together to stop it. 

Though I love both shows, I have to say I like Heroes more.  Though I like the formula of Lost better, I am more interested in the story arcs that Heroes offers.  I love watching the characters cool abilities in use and seeing them unite together to save the world.  I will say this though, Dexter is better than both these shows and if you have never seen or heard of it, boy do you have some catching up to do.dexter-logo

Leave a Reply

